The fields will show blank on the Directory part if the field is private. The field may show {Private} in Profile Display ​part if logged in as the person that is being viewed from the directory or logged in as a Supervisor, viewing the Supervisor Display Page. 

The fields are marked Private either by a default setting or the individual user chose to display the fields are private.

Please see how to change visibility of directory fields for more information.